Running the Table: Governance

The state government features seven constitutional officers: Governor, Lieutenant-Governor, Attorney-General, Secretary of State, Treasurer, Auditor, Commissioner of State Lands. The Lieutenant-Governor serves as President of the State Senate. Amendment 63 0f the State Constitution sets a term length of four years for constitutional officers. Amendment 73 stipulates that they may serve no more than two terms in a particular office but does not disqualify term-limited constitutional officers from seeking other constitutional offices following their tenure.

The state's annual General Assembly or Legislature is made up of one hundred Representatives and thirty-five Senators. The legislature meets in sessions lasting at least sixty days every year. The Governor is empowered to convene Extraordinary, or "special" sessions when circumstances require attention. Each senator is assumed to represent approximately 76,000 constituents; each representative stands for about 27,000. Representatives are elected for two-year terms and are limited to three terms. Senators may serve two four-year terms.

The governments of Arkansas' seventy-five counties are each presided over by nine elected officials: County Judge, Circuit Clerk, County Clerk, Sheriff, Collector, Treasurer, Assessor, Surveyor and Coroner. In many Arkansas counties, the Sheriff also serves as collector.